There is Something Wrong with this Dollar

There is a woman standing in front of me at the counter at Starbucks and she’s digging through her wallet, madly. She finds a dollar in there and uncrinkles it and asks the young cashier if she can exchange it for a dollar in the tip jar. Sure, he says, no problem.

I ask if there’s something wrong with the dollar, because it looks like a normal dollar to me (I don’t tell her that it looks normal to me). She looks up at me from under her thick, fluffy blue hat and through the bottoms of her bifocols and says, “Oh, you bet there’s something wrong with that dollar!”

She marches out of Starbucks and I ask the cashier if I can look at the dollar. Sure, no problem, he says, because I know he’s dying to know what’s on that dollar. There’s a note on there, but it’s all scribbled out.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Life in Marin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There is Something Wrong with this Dollar

  1. Natalia says:

    She left a curse for Starbucks, the seven plagues inscripted in a secret code. We’ll see its effects in a couple of months…

    Anyway, money i$ alway$ dirty.

    ND

  2. Pingback: The Love Bus « Katie Kelly

Leave a Reply

