Since When is this “Fixing” a Dog?

Monday  morning Miguel brought Bella into the vet’s for the big operation. After nine years and no Bella babies, it was time to get her “fixed.”

I am now pondering the significance of this word. “Fixed,” to me, implies that something was broken and needed repair, not the removing of ovaries and other useful parts.

I saw her last night. She was completely doped up. She scrambled to come see me as I walked in the door, letting out a little yelp as she momentarily forgot that her belly was tied together with string.  Miguel said that was the first effort she made to move at all since she arrived home earlier that day. I stuck my face in her cone and let her lick my face for twenty whole seconds, once we helped her back into her little bed.

Oh my Bella. You don’t look “fixed” to me at all.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Animal Kingdom, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Since When is this “Fixing” a Dog?

  1. ndurou says:

    Pobrecita Bella… yo me puse muy triste cuando tuve que operar de lo mismo a mi gata. Lo increible es la capacidad de recuperacion que tienen los animales, en dos dias estan ya saltando.
    La verdad es que el termino ‘to fix’ suena como a arreglar una tuberia o algo asi…en fin, cosas del lenguaje.

    Besos Katie, todavia estoy flipada con el cuaderno que me regalaste.

  2. katiekelly says:

    ¡De nada, Natalia! ¿Dónde estás? ¿Todavía en SF?

    Ayer por la mañana, Bella no dijo mucho. Sólo se quedo en la cama, ni siquiera olió su comida que le dí de la mano. Después, cuando entré en el condo de Miguel después de mi viaje a San Jose, ¡ella ladró! Es algo malo cuando ladre, pero ayer fue un signo de vida. Miguel no creía lo que veía. Me ladró y entonces, después de que me sentí en el sofá, ella saltó de su cama, saltó en el sofá – muy malo compartamiento, te aseguro – y me besó un mil de veces. Me molestaba mucho esto, pero ayer yo estuve tan agradecida. Entonces pido comida. Le di todo lo que quería. Le dije a Miguel, -Ella ha vuelto a ser muy mala perrita. -Sí, – me dijo, -Es bueno, ¿no?

Leave a Reply

