The Price We Pay for Beauty

Extracting Teeth in the Middle Ages.I didn’t know that when dentists pull teeth, all they do is numb the area and then start yanking the sucker back and forth ’til it comes out. I guess it was worth the trip to Dr. Ghiassi’s office, just to learn that.

I found Dr. Golriz Ghiassi’s office by accident. I was going to a nearby office for rehabilitative massage for my shoulder — the one connected to my collar bone that I had I broken in five places when I crashed into a street light on my bike — conveniently located within walking distance from my house.

By the way, I walked home from my orthodontist’s office in Greenbrae yesterday, over Wolfe Grade, back to San Rafael. I think I need a new orthodontist. Dr. Nichols is too far.

Meanwhile, completely unrelated to my shoulder injury, Miguel was giving me a lot of flack for not having gone to the dentist in seven several years. One of my front teeth was darker than the rest for some reason, I had a fang, and who knows what other complications.

“Dr. Golriz Ghiassi, D.D.S., specializing in: dark front teeth, fangs, and who knows what other complications,” said the sign on her door.

I walked in. That was two years ago. She made my teeth all pretty and white and then, last summer, she told me that I better get my teeth straight. She made me sign a release form and warned me of even worse complications if I didn’t do it.

I had braces in high school, but everything moved back since then. And I have to add that my mom was reluctant to get me braces from the beginning. She said that the fang, even higher in high school, would move down eventually, just like hers did. She encouraged me to push down on it.

“That’s all braces are gonna do anyway,” she said. 

My mom said that braces were a big ol’ waste of money. And braces on adults were even worse, because it meant that they were trying to show off how they can waste their money.

So I decided I wasn’t going to say anything this second time around. I’d keep it a big secret. At Thanksgiving, I tried not to open my mouth too much. But my sister Maggy completely blew it.

“Hey, what’s that on your teeth?” she said.

“Nothing. Go away.”

“Hey, I think you got something on your teeth!”

“What’s this, Katie? Did you crash into a street light again?” said my mom.

“No, I’m fine.”

“Why are you talking so funny. What’s going on. Hey! You got braces!”

There was a dead silence as they passed the potatoes.

Time to change my gauze!

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Beauty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Price We Pay for Beauty

  1. ndurou says:

    Katie, next time we meet I will tell you a dentist story about one of my students… you know…
    Something that I remembered when I saw that medieval picture.

    Right on.
    ND

  2. Lynn says:

    This is the best blog ever!

Leave a Reply

