I Almost Wrote this Letter to Vaclav Klaus

But I didn’t. This is what he said that got my underwear all up in a wad.

Taken from the Drudge Report:

Q: Don’t you believe that we’re ruining our planet?

A: I will pretend that I haven’t heard you. Perhaps only Mr Al Gore may be saying something along these lines: a sane person can’t. I don’t see any ruining of the planet, I have never seen it, and I don’t think that a reasonable and serious person could say such a thing. 

Okay, let’s pretend that there’s no such thing as global warming. But can’t we agree that, at a mimum, the air really stinks? 

In the letter I was going to write to Vaclav Klaus, second President of the Czech Republic, I was going to say,  Pan Klaus, I lived in your country for nearly a year of my life, in your fairy-tale capital city of Prague, when you were Prime Minister. My first month there, I could not stop coughing, a condition that was only alleviated when my host family Kaplanovi took me to their country cabin for a few days, to clean my lungs.

Everyone was worried that at the age of 24, I would soon be too old to birth a healthy child, what with air contamination being what it was.

During Christmas time, after a day of walking around the city trying to buy gifts for my family, I nearly collapsed from dizziness. Carbon monoxide does that to you.

And speaking of carbon monoxide, it’s common knowledge that if you breathe too much stuff of that in, for too long of a period, it’ll kill you. You can’t say it’s good for you, can you? Can you say you breathe in that dirty Prague air every morning outside on your balcony, arms outstretched to the world, and exclaim, “Ah! This is the life!”

Well, maybe if you stopped smoking, you might even notice.

Everyone smokes in Prague. So what would they care about clean air.

Except there is one group. Carbusters Magazine is

published four times a year by the World Carfree Network and produced by an international activist team in Prague, Czech Republic. It is a 32-page print magazine critiquing our society’s car culture and exploring positive alternatives. Carbusters aims to serve as both an information source and a call to action, providing a full range of content from direct action skills to the latest research developments, feature articles on topics ranging from Driving as Addiction to Ecocity Visions, world news and even cartoons poking fun at the car and oil industries. (Carbusters.org)

So there is a bright side. 

I criticize vaclav Klaus, but it is true that Prague has one of the best public transit system‘s in the world. This is an undetable fact. It’s better than the Wheels bus in Pleasanton.

So why’s their air so bad? I think it’s because at the time, those who did drive cars drove two-cylinder Trabants. There’s also a lot of industry in Prague. You could go to the outskirts, away from the tourist centers, and encounter buildings completely black from the polution.

You just can’t tell me that poisons blowing through the air don’t do bad things.  Or can’t we at least agree that they don’t really do good things?

I understand that, since I left Prague, they’ve cleaned up their act a little bit. Which begs one to wonder, if things were never bad, why did they bother cleaning things up? Can you tell me that, Pan Klaus?

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Politics, Prague, Propaganda, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Almost Wrote this Letter to Vaclav Klaus

  1. Danny Adams says:

    I just wrote the following in my online journal as a response to Klaus’ recent article in the *Financial Times* —

    http://madwriter.livejournal.com/488178.html

    –and I would’ve mailed it to him, except for the fac that I can’t find any online contact information for him. I suppose I could always send it by U.S. post . . .

Leave a Reply

