A Mother’s Love

This morning
down the side of Mt. Tam
I glide past another deer,
a mother, no doubt,
licking the soft, spotted fur,
of her baby
crushed by this morning’s commute.
I pedal home and
hug my cat
just a little bit longer.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Fauna, Sadness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Mother’s Love

  1. Chris says:

    That is sad. I have seen animals do that before. I don’t think they understand that licking won’t bring them back to life. 😦

Leave a Reply

