Misunderstood at Age Nine

A creative writing assignment in Ms. Loeb’s fifth grade class was to write about what would happen if suddenly, all of the days of the weeks had new names. What would they be?

I don’t remember what I named the days of the week, but I remember that I got my homework assignment back covered in red ink, and that I was very upset.

One error was my gross abuse of the exclamation point. Today, I would have to say that I am in agreement with Ms. Loeb. Finishing a sentence with twenty of them for emphasis is overkill.

What bothered me, however, was that Ms. Loeb failed to recognize that I had purposely written the entire piece in the voice of a New York gangster.

I never asked her how this could go over her head. I was only nine years old, and not one to challenge authority. But she might as well have punched me in my stomach. That’s how much it hurt.

She didn’t like that I said, “You’s’all” and, “Then I says to the other one.” She marked them right out. There was not a single sentence that she liked. She couldn’t see that that I was utilizing gangster vernacular. Helloooooooo.

Up yours, Ms. Loeb.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Ms. Loeb, My Life, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Misunderstood at Age Nine

  1. Jay Mitchell says:

    I hate it when people don’t get wordplay. Recently, I told the ex-wife of an old friend (we’ll call her “Debbie”) a story about something my oldest daughter had said when she was about five. My daughter saw (and heard) a woodpecker working on a dead pine tree and said, “Look Dad, a knockinbird” (we’re Southern, so of course she left out the “g”).

    Debbie’s response, after a short pause, was, “You mean, like a MOCKINGbird? Oh, I get it. Hahaha.” Uhh, OK. I guess late really is better than never, but sometimes I’m not so sure. Maybe Mrs. Loeb figured out what you were doing a month or two later but didn’t want to admit how dense she was.

  2. katiekelly says:

    There’s no way Ms. Loeb figured it out. I know she didn’t, but I shall explain in a future post. You are very kind to give her the credit, however.

    Knockinbird. That’s cute.

Leave a Reply

