I’ve Done Something Crazy

I just signed up for a Spanish literature class, all in Spanish, at City College of San Francisco. I think I should be okay, but I have also not taken an official Spanish class since 1991, and it was for one quarter at CSU Bakersfield, and I got a C. I could not feign interest in mastering describing the weather.

The other day, I took the official “on-line placement exam” and scored a 750. 400+ would be the four-year equivalent in a university. My biggest fear is that I’m going to present this result to the foreign language chairman and he’s going to tell me that there must have been some huge mistake, please go back to bonehead Spanish, and, by the way, how’s the weather?

Oh, and another thing. When filling out the on-line application, I somehow managed to enter my full name as Kelly Katherine Ann. As in, my first name’s Kelly, and my last is Katherine. I have no idea how I did that, but I can only assume that it will prove that I barely have a command of my own language. I haven’t figured out  how to change it. I hope they let me. Otherwise, I am about to enter a very dark period.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Learning Spanish, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve Done Something Crazy

  1. Chris says:

    I am sure with enough begging, some nice person at the college will change it for you.

  2. Alasdair says:

    Good for you! Not the name thing, the language class thing … it might be tough, being an ‘immersion’ type course, but I always think that learning a language is probably one of the most worthwhile things someone can do – it’s a bit like reaching out I suppose.

    Stick with it …

Leave a Reply

