The Meaning of American Pie


We, meaning my mom, dad, sister, grandma and I, had just piled into the van after my high school graduation. My dad turned the key, to begin the slow procession out of the pandemonium of the highschool parking lot. This was the song playing on KYA, the only FM music station my dad ever listened to. Hundreds of kids danced around and screamed outside in the heat of the summer’s night. My dad turned up the volume and left van in park. We just sat and listened.

It’s one of the few times I felt like I knew my dad.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Meaning of American Pie

  1. ndurou says:

    Thank you Katie for making me cry on Monday at 9 a.m. But, hey, good tears. It has been beautiful the way you have connected your own story with the video. What a great song!

  2. Donna says:

    I never paid any attention to what the words might have meant in American Pie.I knew it was about Buddy Holly’s death,but that’s all.What a revelation.Thank you Katie.Did you dance to it that night?

Leave a Reply

