I Invented the Word “Flarch”

I invented it. Google “flying flarch” and you will see the only instance of this expression on-line, anywhere, in a comment I left on Jacquie Phelan’s blog.

In all honesty, I did not know that I invented this word, until my aunt and I were engaging in e-mail banter, and I said, “What the flarch,” and she wrote back, “Flarch?”

I Googled the expression, confident that it would appear in an on-line urban dictionary, and then I could educate her to the English of my generation, but there is no such listing.

It is a pity that no one else knows what this word means but me. It is very useful.

I still don’t know exactly what it means yet, but even then, I invented it. Well, to be more accurate, “flying flarch” is mine. Check on-line yourself if you don’t believe me. It’s my word.

I’ll share it, though. I’m not one of those word mongerers. If more people knew what it meant, maybe people wouldn’t look at me so funny.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Things I Bet You Didn't Know. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Invented the Word “Flarch”

  1. lauren says:

    flatulance and fart mixed together. it’s such a smelly word.

  2. katiekelly says:

    Actually, it’s “fart” and “starch” mixed together, but now I fear I am revealing too much information.

  3. lauren says:

    ewe. fart and starch?

  4. katiekelly says:

    No, I meant that other one that starts with fl, but never mind. I’m feeling depressed that the one word I introduce to our lexicon got off to such a bad start. I don’t want to be remembered for this!

  5. Jenny says:

    sorry but you didn’t invent it

    The word Flarch is not in the OED but it is in the English Dialect Dictionary – Joseph Wright, 1900 vol 2 page 395 – 6

    The word Flarch is to flatter, fawn, weedle, coax, cajole, beseich.

    It has its origins in Cumberland and is also known as Fleech where is perdominantly a Northern Counties term- refers to Westmorland, N Lancs.

    and it is a term I have used all my life (being raised in the county of Cumberland which is now Cumbria

    • katiekelly says:

      What the flarch!

      Okay, I believe you, and I prefer the definition you provide to mine. Thank you for the correction. This takes a load of responsibility off of my shoulders. Can you provide example sentences?

      • Lynn says:

        Now you are trying to flarch around Jenny.

        P.S. As a resident of Cumbria flarch is definately an old cumbrian word.

  6. Holly says:

    I think it’s a Cumbrian word (as a resident of Cumbria myself who uses it daily!).

    I use it to describe someone being a bit of a kiss arse.

    For example, if I said

    “Do you think I look pretty?”

    and my boyfriend replied

    “I think you look pretty now and every minute of every day”,

    then he’s being a flarch 😛

    That’s how most people I know and I use it, anyway 🙂

  7. leah says:

    I use this word all the time because of my Mam! people look at you like your strange when talking to non-Cumbrians! i love it though a great alternative to a flirt!

  8. Rufus Bezak says:

    Flarch is an old Cumbrian word as Holly states above – we still use today even – it means to flatter someone or ingratiate yourself toward them.

Leave a Reply

