Good Readin’

She’s paraphrasing two articles, but it’s a good paraphrase, and I think you should check out Sarah Clatterbuck’s latest blog entry.

I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I stumbled across this a couple of days ago. It reinforces how much I detest the word “talent.” Please allow me to rant a little bit, but it’s something I’ve heard my whole life, and it never got me anywhere. Fortunately, I’ve had a few coaches who instead pounded it into my head that if you try really hard, it feels good. If I didn’t have swimming in my life, specifically with my coach Steve Morsilli at the Pleasanton Seahawks, I never would have figured this out.

But then you have to read the second part of Sarah’s blog, which is about the latest research that indicates that long bouts of anaroebic excercise can have adverse affects on one’s long term health, and can even shorten your life span.

So I have no idea if this was Sarah’s intent, but the last time I climbed White’s Hill with the group, I struggled between trying as hard as I could and feeling good about the effort and fearing that I might not live to see 92.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Things I Bet You Didn't Know. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Readin’

  1. chatterbox says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Katie! Glad you are enjoying the musings. I’ll have to get up a Madera report soon – once the boiling tea kettle is removed from my head!

  2. chris says:

    If that is the case, how long do I have?

  3. katiekelly says:

    Chris Perier, I do not know how to break this to you. You are going to die.

  4. katiekelly says:

    When your heart stops beating.

    Can we change the topic? This is too morbid.

    Can I sleep on your couch for the Kern County Stage Race? It’s coming up in May.

  5. chris says:

    You are welcome anytime–details? And by the way…we have a pool now!

Leave a Reply

