I Was Just Hoping to Buy Vegetables

We could hear everything between the windows across our tiny alley way on G Street, all the yelling, the crying, the crashing bottles. Then one summer’s night, he squealed away in his Pinto, and he never came back.

I saw her the next evening, sitting on the bench on her front porch adjacent to our kitchen door, sipping a Tab, doing her toenails. She looked sad, like she needed a shoulder to cry on.

“Hey, I’m going to walk to the farmer’s market. Want to come with?” I said, feeling neighborly.

“No thanks,” she said. “I just broke up with my boyfriend. I don’t want to meet any men tonight.”

“Oh, oh, right,” I said.

I felt awkward in the silence. Maybe there’d been a misunderstanding. Well, I did say “farmer’s market.” 

Maybe she was from out of state.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Life in Marin, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Was Just Hoping to Buy Vegetables

  1. chatterbox says:

    maybe vegetables are an aphrodisiac for her?

  2. Pingback: No. No. No. « Katie Kelly

Leave a Reply

