Schooled

He rolled up in front of me at the intersection at the bottom of Camino Alto grade in Corte Madera.

“Excuse me, would you mind telling me what all that commotion was about?” he said.

“I was asking you to stay to the right, so I could get around you safely,” I said, because you were cornering with your inside foot down and you were all over the road, and if you crashed, it’d be disastrous for us both, I didn’t say.

I did get around him, but I am guessing that he did not appreciate my comuniques. Or the blond pony tail or that my voice is four octaves higher than his and that I love my cat and I love getting my toenails done. There are certain people who do not like to be passed by people who like getting their toenails done, and you can tell who they are because they lecture you with their own made up rules about riding etiquette at intersections.

“Okay, let me explain something to you.” he said, nose flaring. “I don’t ride for you. So that’s your first problem right there.”

I did not feel like explaining the whole concept of slower traffic staying right, and basic cornering principles, because it would mean having to converse with him, and, since we’d be sharing the same road for who knows how many more miles, that would not be optimal for the end of what had been a spectacular ride with some good friends to Pt. Reyes Station and then down the coast through Muir Woods, before heading home for ice cream and a nap.

Before the light turned green, he had already sprinted across the intersection, a manuevre which I guess was supposed to indicate his swiftness.

At the next light, he almost fell over trying to unclip his foot.

I wouldn’t have helped him if he did.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Life in Marin, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Schooled

  1. chris says:

    Some people just can’t be helped.

  2. chris says:

    Nor should you…and I would add you would stop anyone else who would have tried…

  3. Davey Simon says:

    Maybe kooky riders are here to not only remind us of how great we are at riding bikes but how nice it is to meet someone cool who rides bikes.

    It was nice riding with you on Sunday up Bo-Fax road. I hope you remember the guy on the blue Schwinn paramount in the whole athlete kit.

    Mostly all I remember is your rear hub. Nice effort up that climb. I was certainly not upset about being (dropped actually)”passed by people who like getting their toenails done.” It was really fun.

    I had to keep moving my legs after that kind of effort to make it back over the hill to the meadow club. However, if I had been able to speak or seem smooth with my heart rate at 195, I would have asked to go on a ride with you again 😉

  4. PandaElf says:

    I love those guys who won’t yield to me once they see the pigtails. Fuel for the fire…

  5. Jake says:

    That is EXACTLY why I have a glow-in-the-dark beanie propellor on my bike helmet: To differentiate myself from people like that.

Leave a Reply

