The Sixth Grade was Generally a Good Year

Recess at Donlon Elementary, 1981Generally speaking, the 6th grade was a good year for me, compared to the other years. Things were easy going. Social networking wasn’t too tough, except that Lisa Kawakami (not in this photo) for whatever reasons didn’t want me to be a part of “the group”. For example, to force people to decide between her and me, she singled me out one day on the kick ball court and said, “Katie, are a virgin?”

I didn’t know what a virgin was, so the last thing I wanted to be was whatever this v-word was, so of course I denied the charges, my face burning bright red, and that’s how I became the playground slut, which, thankfully, no one seemed to believe.

Anyway, that’s me in the middle, and to the left is Sandy Spencer, and to the right I think could be a girl named Jenny Johnson, but to tell you the truth, I can’t remember who the hell that is.

Sandy for some reason called herself Maudi, until the 7th grade, when she suddenly became grown up, and demanded that we never call her that again. But what I remember about Sandy is going on long bike rides on our girls’ racing bikes. Mine was a yellow Schwinn Continental, with the step-through frame, and drop bars with yellow tape. I saved my money and bought it used through a newspaper want ad for fifty dollars. Well, we were riding down Valley Trails Drive, and Sandy said we had to slow down because otherwise the bike police would come and give us a ticket. And I believed her.

I don’t understand what I am doing in this photo. I could be playing my nose, which I was very good at, but the finger positioning here doesn’t look right. Second guess is it could be a Tarzan yell, but I thought that came later, in junior high, when things weren’t so good and I comforted myself watching Carol Burnett after school (she had the Tarzan yell down to a perfection). So I’m guessing I’m just sneezing.

Thanks to Leanne Ralph née Russell, who posted this gem on Facebook, which, despite all my griping, has brought some neat people back into my life.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sixth Grade was Generally a Good Year

  1. chris says:

    Carol Burnett show…awesome! C

  2. Kevin says:

    I know that Face!!

    It’s the “Oh God! I forgot my makeup! Don’t take my picture” look!

  3. lauren says:

    that was my hairdo too in 6th grad – the one on the left.

  4. katiekelly says:

    That was the hairdo I wanted, but it was too hard to do, so my mom French braided my hair every day.

Leave a Reply

