“He was a man trying to make it, trying to make it as a parolee.”

Headlines and quotes that I can’t get out of my head:

“Despite the violence that left five dead, Lovell Mixon was not a monster.”

“He don’t go up the street killing people. He don’t, he’s nice, he’s kind, he’s sweet, you know what I’m sayin’.”

“The prison takes people and turns them lose without without preparing them for life on the outside.”

“Oakland killer had just been linked to rape.”

markdunakinSergeant Mark Dunakin was a classmate of mine in Pleasanton, CA. He grew up in my neighborhood, in Valley Trails. In the fifth grade, I was openly jealous of his crush on my best friend Becky, and I believe he avoided me ever since, up through high school graduation. Overwhelmed by my flirting, he hid from me in the bushes, a blow to my ego, but I stayed strong. He played the trombone in the band, and was well liked in his circle of friends. I always thought he was a good guy.

Mark Dunakin – a cop committed to Oakland

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Sadness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “He was a man trying to make it, trying to make it as a parolee.”

  1. Chris says:

    Such a sad thing.

Leave a Reply

