But What If I’m Already Boycotting Whole Foods?

Word on the street is that liberals are boycotting Whole Foods grocery stores after its co-founder and CEO, John Mackey, published this article in the Wall Street Journal, expressing his point of view that Obama’s health reform is a bad idea.

What really has everyone’s underwear up in a wad is this sentiment in particular:

Many promoters of health-care reform believe that people have an intrinsic ethical right to health care—to equal access to doctors, medicines and hospitals. While all of us empathize with those who are sick, how can we say that all people have more of an intrinsic right to health care than they have to food or shelter?

I don’t know. I was just going to say that I’ve been boycotting Whole Foods for years because the food is way overpriced, the fruits and vegetables aren’t that much better than what they’ve got at United Markets (serving Marin County since 1955),  and when you do set foot in that store, you put your physical well being into great risk, as the other cart pushers are aggressive, with little regard to others’ personal space or safety.

On the other  hand, Whole Foods assortment of fine chocolates is unmatched in any other grocery chain, and they make a damn good burrito.

I find these issues so confusing.

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Politics, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to But What If I’m Already Boycotting Whole Foods?

  1. Indi Young says:

    Ah! And United Market has a fine selection of chocolates, too, in several places. I’ve been duly impressed. They just started carrying Valrhona cocoa powder, too, which makes me starry-eyed.

  2. Kelly says:

    I read this today and the best part of the article was that ‘Wal-Mart, on the other hand, has taken a surprisingly progressive stance on healthcare reform’. I was like I BET THEY HAVE! Then they can just call government provided healthcare an “employee benefit”.

    I was boycotting whole foods but they have such a fantastic prepared food section and this crack peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

