What People are Freaking Out About in Spain

Granted, I have now had half a bottle of wine as I write this, so what may appear here my not seem entirely coherent, but I thought I would share with you today’s headlines in the news on TV today (and the past several days) in Spain. They are as follows:

  • The Swine Flu. Here it is called Gripe A. I just want to tell all the people, “Hey, we went through this in the U.S. already. Chill out!”  but there is nothing I can do. They are very concerned that there aren’t enough vaccines to cover the entire country. I just want to say, “Take a multi-vitamin,” but again, there is nothing I can do. It’s been in the news constantly.
  • The murder of Laura Alonso. I don’t want to downplay the trauma. In fact, this is what I love about Spain, that one single murder can become national news. It’s a tragic story of an ex-lover, who has apparently already confessed to the crime. He said they had an argument and he strangled her. It’s terrible, and the entire town is in mourning. I love that the entire town is in mourning. In the U.S., the town might mourn for a day, and then the media would move onto the next thing. Here, the entire country is in shock, and has been for severl days. It’s been on all the news shows, many times. We don’t have enough hours in the day to mourn all the murders in our country.
  • Triplets. Some couple gave birth to triplets, and this made the national news. But I started typing this when this came on the news, so I missed all the details. Triplets!
About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What People are Freaking Out About in Spain

  1. ND says:

    Live long and prosper!

Leave a Reply

