We Interrupt the Oscars to Talk About, Um, Bike Racing

Before I went to the Oscars, I was a bike racer. I took it so seriously. I remember this. From the year 2004 until last year, I never trained without the advice of a personal coach, and I worked with two of the best in the business.

Now I’m coaching myself. Here, I’ll share with you my schedule. It is fascinatingly scientific. It goes like this:

I alternate swimming days with biking days because I love swimming and I love riding my bike. When I feel good, I go hard. When I’m tired, I don’t go hard. Sometimes, I’ll go many days in a row, trying to become more fatigued.  And when I reach a near breaking point, I slow back down. Sometimes, I go many days going slow. It all depends.

I do lots of fartleks or intervals or whatever you want to call them. Sometimes, I use a watch, and sometimes, I’ll pick a landmark up the road to try to race to. It is 100% dependent upon my mood in that given moment, save for a spin class on Tuesdays at my gym with Alan Atha. There, I just do what he says.

See? It’s very scientific.

I don’t write any of this down. I did, but kept losing the notebook.

You may be asking, what about that all important scheduled week of rest? This is so simple, but I am reluctant to share this information, because it might qualify as too much, but what the heck: when I’m about to get my period, and I cry over every silly little thing, and I want to sleep for twelve hours a day, then I back down during the week.

Can I say this is helping me as a bike racer? Aw,  heck no. There is a high possibility that I am in for my slowest season ever, but my arms look incredible, and I cannot recall ever having this much fun riding my bike.

Why did it take me so long to figure this out?

About katiekelly

I grew up in a parking lot.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We Interrupt the Oscars to Talk About, Um, Bike Racing

  1. dee says:

    i loved this post katie and completely relate to this philosophy of training. this is my strategy exactly as i do home crossfit on my driveway. i tend to run faster when i feel my dog about to tackle me to the ground.

  2. katiekelly says:

    Dee, this is an excellent example of how your motivation to train can come from a variety of sources, even pets.

  3. dee says:

    I guess the next step in that piece of my training would be to explore increased auditory sensitivity so that my movements are more fluid as the dog approaches. Rather than sidestepping in a jerky fashion, I should actually be able to almost hover….

    • katiekelly says:

      Dee, your refined training strategies are similar to what I’ve read in the works of Theodor Bompa and Massimo Testa. By incorporating auditory sensitivy to your already complicated exercise regimen, you are increasing the load placed on your neurotransmitters, which will, in the long run, burn more calories and grant you super human powers. This is scientific fact.

  4. peter says:

    plus also it may give her bigger internal organs, right? PHAT! Neurotransmitters, yo!

Leave a Reply

